More on Motorcycle Diaries

Some dialogue snippets (among many that I found interesting):

A humorous discussion Che and his friend Alberto had with a Nun at a leper colony they were visiting:

Ernesto Guevara: Mother.
Mother Sister Alberto: Yes?
Alberto Granado: We want to eat.
Ernesto Guevara: We deserve to eat like everyone else.
Mother Sister Alberto: Yes, but you didn’t go to mass.
Ernesto Guevara: No.
Mother Sister Alberto: Then, how do you expect to feed the body if you didn’t feed the soul first?
Alberto Granado: Er, denying food is not very Christian-like.
Ernesto Guevara: Yes, I doubt Jesus would act like this.
Mother Sister Alberto: In this house, we have a set of rules that have to be followed.
Ernesto Guevara: [to Alberto now, as she turns away] I haven’t read any rule book.
Alberto Granado: Neither did I. I think that if I find it I would eat it.

This one’s the opening dialogue from the movie:

Ernesto Guevara: This isn’t a tale of heroic feats. It’s about two lives running parallel for a while, with common aspirations and similar dreams.

I think one the reasons why the movie appealed to me was because I could somewhat relate to what must have gone through Che’s mind when he encountered rural Latin America. Coming from a land of stark disparity in living conditions, it was not hard for me to do so.

As an Indian, two things can happen to you as you grow up. Either you learn to ignore this disparity as you go about trying to make a niche for yourself in the society you live in. Or you get affected by it so much that you find it absolutely necessary to take some action. The course of action, of course, depends on the person. Both are equally hard, in my opinion. It’s hard to be an absolute drone, and hard to be a revolutionary.

