The Mario connection

Ritesh’s post on old nitendo games–Mario and Contra–pushed me down the memory lane. Technically speaking, these games are nothing compared to new age games like counter strike and age of empires. However they do have their own charm. It’s difficult to explain — if you hand me game pads for a mario game, I could sit for hours–non stop–trying to reach the queen. May be this is because games like mario were the first ones we were exposed to. Yeah! this might be the reason, because if you ask me to play a new age flash game that has the same complexity level of mario, probably I won’t be interested.

Wait! There might be another angle to this. Did you know that Mario and I are of the same age? Well, I was born in the year 1981, and that is the same year Mario was launched. Don’t believe me? Check this excerpt from the wikipedia article:

Mario , also known as Super Mario and originally Jumpman in Japan, is a video game character created by Shigeru Miyamoto for Nintendo. He is one of Nintendo’s best-known characters, and is considered by many to be the most well-known video game character in history, appearing in hundreds of games, many of them bestsellers. Mario first appeared in the 1981 Donkey Kong arcade game, while Mario’s brother Luigi first appeared in Mario Bros., the arcade game. The Mario franchise has, as of August 11, 2005, sold 180,000,000 games (making it by far the biggest selling franchise in the history of video games).
Source

Old, low tech nintendo consoles rock! any day D

